Barrie Announces New Album ‘Barbara’, Shares Video for New Single ‘Quarry’

    Barrie has announced her new album, Barbara, which is set to drop on March 25 via Winspear. Along with the previously released tracks ‘Dig’ and ‘Frankie’, the follow-up to 2019’s Happy to Be Here will include the new single ‘Quarry’, which arrives today with an accompanying video by Robert Kolodny. Watch and listen below.

    “The album is diaristic, but not in obvious or intimate ways,” Barrie explained in a statement. “Music is my job, and it’s also intensely personal. I want the music to connect with people, but have reservations about the toll it takes on the artist to have to live up to whatever the music ends up representing for the listener. To connect with people about grief is beautiful, but I don’t want to relive the trauma of it at every show and interview. I also don’t want to become desensitized to my sadness. There’s both rawness and a measure of control in the album; I want to make sure the project and the person are tied, but only by certain limbs.”

    Barrie continued: “Since I wrote, played, and produced the album by myself in isolation, with the help of my wife, it felt like it should be self-titled, but maintain that same sense of separation I achieved with the music. Barbara is my legal name, my formal name. No one calls me Barbara except the bank and the government, and odd occasions when my dad inexplicably introduced me that way to friends. Since my name and moniker are Barrie, calling the album Barbara felt like the fitting way to keep that balance between intimate and public.”

    Barbara Cover Artwork:

    Barbara Tracklist:

    1. Jersey
    2. Frankie
    3. Jenny
    4. Concrete
    5. Dig
    6. Bully
    7. Harp 2 Interlude
    8. Harp 2
    9. Quarry
    10. Basketball
    11. Bloodline

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading