Christian Lee Hutson Announces New Album, Shares Video for New Single ‘Rubberneckers’

    Christian Lee Huston has shared the details of his new album, Quitters, which will be released on April 1 via ANTI-. The LP was produced by Phoebe Bridgers and Conor Oberst, and its latest single, ‘Rubberneckers’, features backing vocals from Brigders. Check out the song’s Zoe Donahoe and Adam Sputh-directed video below.

    “I made the ‘Rubberneckers’ video with my friends Zoe and Adam, who I worked with on the ‘Lose This Number’ video,” Hutson said in a statement. “The last time I danced was at the eighth grade social and it was mainly just swaying to ‘I Don’t Wanna Miss a Thing,’ but I wanted to showcase what a natural, gifted dancer I am.”

    Of the album, which follows 2020’s Beginners, he added: “When we made Beginners, the aim was to make simple digital recordings of how I would play the songs in the room. With this record, Phoebe and Conor had an idea that it would be fun to make it to tape. Phoebe is my best friend and making Beginners with her was so comfortable and easy. So I wanted to work with her again.”

    “I took a long time with Beginners,” Hutson continued. “I had those songs for 10 years, but these songs came out a lot faster. There was a little bit of insecurity with the lyrics. Having Conor there served the purpose of someone who I really respect as a lyricist and could soothe my anxiety.”

    In November of last year, Hutson released the song ‘Strawberry Lemonade’, which landed on our Best New Songs segment.

    Quitters Cover Artwork:

    Quitters Tracklist:

    1. Strawberry Lemonade
    2. Endangered Birds
    3. Rubberneckers
    4. Sitting Up With A Sick Friend
    5. Age Difference
    6. Blank Check
    7. Cherry
    8. State Bird
    9. Teddy’s Song
    10. Black Cat
    11. Creature Feature
    12. OCDemon
    13. Triple Axel

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading