Calexico Announce New Album ‘El Mirador’, Share Video for New Song

    Calexico have announced a new album titled El Mirador, which is scheduled for release on April 8 via City Slang. Today’s announcement comes with the release of the album’s first single and title track, alongside an animated video by director Elefanto and MERO ESTUDIO. Check it out below and scroll down for the album’s cover artwork and tracklist.

    Calexico’s Joey Burns and John Convertino wrote and recorded the new LP at longtime bandmate Sergio Mendoza’s home studio in Tucson, Arizona. “El Mirador is dedicated to family, friends and community,” Burns said of the album in a statement. “The pandemic highlighted all the ways we need each other, and music happens to be my way of building bridges and encouraging inclusiveness and positivity. That comes along with sadness and melancholy, but music sparks change and movement.”

    El Mirador marks Calexico’s 10th studio album, following their 2020 Christmas record Seasonal Shift.

    El Mirador Cover Artwork:

    El Mirador Tracklist:

    1. El Mirador
    2. Harness The Wind
    3. Cumbia Peninsula
    4. Then You Might See
    5. Cumbia Del Polvo
    6. El Paso
    7. The El Burro Song
    8. Liberada
    9. Turquoise
    10. Constellation
    11. Rancho Azul
    12. Caldera

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading