Caracara Announce New Album ‘New Preoccupations’, Release New Song

    Philly-based band Caracara have announced a new album called New Preoccupations. The follow-up to 2017’s Summer Megalith and the 2019 Better EP is due out March 25 via Memory Music. Today’s announcement comes with the release of a new single, ‘Strange Interactions in the Night’, which follows last year’s ‘Hyacinth’. Check it out below.

    Recorded in Conshohocken, PA at Will Yip’s Studio 4 Recordings, Caracara’s new LP centers on singer-guitarist Will Lindsay’s relationship with alcohol. “I think what people will be able to hear in this record, and what we hope to say, is that this can’t simply be reduced to a dark and dismal story,” he explained in a statement. “We didn’t set out to make a druggy record about recovery, we wanted to examine the journey toward it–to show the ominous weight of the lowest moments, woven in with the rapturous highs that make the lows easier to turn away from. These beautiful moments may be fueled by a substance but aren’t inherently invalidated by it. Just because it ended with you needing to stop doesn’t mean you can’t celebrate the memories you made.”

    New Preoccupations Cover Artwork:

    New Preoccupations Tracklist:

    1. My Thousand Eyes
    2. Hyacinth
    3. Colorglut [feat. Anthony Green]
    4. Nocturnalia
    5. Ohio
    6. Peeling Open My Eyelids
    7. Song for Montana Wildhack
    8. Strange Interactions In The Night
    9. Useful Machine
    10. Harsh Light
    11. Monoculture

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading