Death Cab for Cutie Share Cover of Yoko Ono’s ‘Waiting for the Sunrise’

    Death Cab For Cutie have shared their take on Yoko Ono’s ‘Waiting For The Sunrise’, which originally appeared on 1973’s Approximately Infinite Universe. The cover is taken from the upcoming tribute album Ocean Child: Songs of Yoko Onowhich is imagined and curated by the band’s leader Ben Gibbard. Take a listen below.

    Ocean Child: Songs of Yoko Ono includes David Byrne and Yo La Tengo’s previously shared rendition of ‘Who Has Seen The Wind’ and Japanese Breakfast’s take on ‘Nobody Sees Me Like You Do’. Sharon Van Etten, Deerhoof, US Girls, Jay Som, Stephin Merritt (of Magnetic Fields), Thao, Sudan Archives, We Are KING, and Amber Coffman also feature on the LP, which arrives on February 18 via Canvasback Music/Atlantic Records.

    Back in December 2020, Death Cab for Cutie shared The Georgia EP, featuring covers of songs by R.E.M., Neutral Milk Hotel, Cat Power, and more.

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading