Kevin Morby Announces New Album, Shares Video for New Single

    Kevin Morby has announced a new album called This Is a Photograph. The follow-up to 2020’s Sundowner will be released on May 13 via Dead Oceans. Today, Morby has shared the album’s title track, which comes with an accompanying video directed by Chantal Anderson and filmed in a remote California town. Check it out below and scroll down for the LP’s cover artwork and tracklist.

    The new album was helmed by Morby’s frequent collaborator Sam Cohen, who also produced 2016’s Singing Saw and 2019’s Oh My God. Collaborators on the record include Cassandra Jenkins, Makaya McCraven, Tim Heidecker, Alia Shawkat, and others.

    “Sam Cohen and I wanted to throw everything at the wall with this one. It’s about the battle every family faces, that of chasing the clock, to live our lives and hold onto one another for as long as possible,” Morby explained in a statement. “That, and, the dreams that come with being a young family in America and where those dreams eventually end up.”

    This Is a Photograph Cover Artwork:

    This Is a Photograph Tracklist:

    1. Intro
    2. This Is A Photograph
    3. A Random Act Of Kindness
    4. Bittersweet, TN
    5. Disappearing
    6. A Coat Of Butterflies
    7. Rock Bottom
    8. Forever Inside A Picture
    9. Five Easy Pieces
    10. Stop Before I Cry
    11. It’s Over
    12. Goodbye To Good Times

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading