Ethel Cain Announces Debut Album ‘Preacher’s Daughter’, Shares New Song ‘Gibson Girl’

    Ethel Cain has announced her debut album, Preacher’s Daughter. The follow-up to last year’s Inbred EP is set to arrive on May 12 via Daughters of Cain. Along with the announcement, Cain has today shared a new single called ‘Gibson Girl’. Check it out below.

    “Being a woman is about never quite reaching a goal that someone else set for you,” Cain said in a statement about the new track. “Under pressure to fit an impossible standard, I find myself daydreaming about what it would be like to be perfect in a way I can’t ever possibly achieve. I’ve always been in love with Evelyn Nesbit, the Gibson Girl, and thought she was the absolute pinnacle of feminine poise and grace. Whenever I start to lose myself and forget what I’m capable of, I just turn to her and she’s the greatest reminder.”

    Ethel Cain recently released a cover of Britney Spears’ ‘Everytime’. Read our Artist Spotlight interview with Ethel Cain.

    Preacher’s Daughter Tracklist:

    1. Family Tree (Intro)
    2. American Teenager
    3. A House in Nebraska
    4. Western Nights
    5. Family Tree
    6. Hard Times
    7. Thoroughfare
    8. Gibson Girl
    9. Ptolemaea
    10. August Underground
    11. Televangelism
    12. Sun Bleached Flies
    13. Strangers

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading