The Range Announces New Album ‘Mercury’, Unveils New Song ‘Ricercar’

    The Range, the moniker of producer James Hinton, has announced his first album in six years, Mercury. The follow-up to 2016’s Potential arrives on June 10 via Domino and includes a new single called ‘Ricercar’, which you can check out below.

    “A Ricercar in a musical context is a prelude fugue that kind of sets the tableau of a piece to follow,” Hinton explained in a press release. “I first heard about the concept of a Ricercar in a biography of Bach, who famously encoded his own name in a piece (H having been interchangeable as the name for B-flat at the time). At the time I wrote this song I was listening to a lot of rap from the 90s, specifically DJ Premier beats. As such I was rapidly collecting breaks and had just stumbled upon the Chief Kamanawanalea break by the Turtles and found that if I reordered the sections I could make this kind of palindromic composite break that seemed to propel the song along.”

    He added: “This song features a vocal sample from Instagram of a singer covering Tamar Braxton’s ‘My Man.’ The lyrics are quite personal to me and are a good example of what I try to do in a lot of my songs. I tend to try to find a way to say something that I would never be able to say out loud. I think of my editing of lyrics as a pressure release.”

    Mercury Cover Artwork:

    Mercury Tracklist:

    1. Bicameral
    2. 1995
    3. Urethane
    4. Ricercar
    5. Nor For Me
    6. Relegate
    7. A Tree Day
    8. Balm
    9. Cantor
    10. Every Good Thing
    11. Violet

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading