Nina Nastasia Announces New Album ‘Riderless Horse’, Shares New Single ‘Just Stay in Bed’

    Nina Nastasia has returned from a 12-year hiatus with the announcement of a new album called Riderless Horse. It’s set to arrive on July 22 via Temporary Residence, with a vinyl release to follow on November 4. The LP was produced alongside Steve Albini. Today, Nastasia has shared the album’s lead single, ‘Just Stay in Bed’. Check it out below and scroll down for the record’s cover art (by Elizabeth Neel) and tracklist.

    In a press release, Nastasia described Riderless Horse as “my first solo record,” adding that it is her first record not produced by her former partner, Kennan Gudjonsson, who passed away in 2020. Her statement continues:

    I haven’t made an album since 2010. I decided to stop pursuing music several years
    after my sixth record, Outlaster, because of unhappiness, overwhelming chaos,
    mental illness, and my tragically dysfunctional relationship with Kennan. Creating
    music had always been a positive outlet during difficult times, but eventually it​
    became a source of absolute misery.

    Kennan, a cat, and I lived in a studio apartment in NYC for 25 years, finding ways to
    survive while making records and going on tours. Our apartment was the place where
    people would come stay, eat, drink, play music, and use our tub. It was quite a home
    we had created, but it was decaying steadily from the moment we moved in, and in
    the end, it was as if black mold was growing beneath the surface, undetected, and
    the two of us were dying and getting too weak to ever leave. We loved each other.
    We were each other’s family, but there was ongoing abuse, control and manipulation.
    We hid. We didn’t want anyone to see how ugly things could get, so we increasingly
    isolated from our friends and family. We were lost.

    On January 26, 2020, I made the decision to separate and live apart, and on January
    27, Kennan died by suicide. What a thing, suicide. I can only feel sadness and guilt
    about it. Maybe I’ll have other reactions to it later on.

    Riderless Horse documents the grief, but it also marks moments of empowerment
    and a real happiness in discovering my own capability. Steve Albini produced this
    record with me, and Greg Norman assisted. The three of us are old friends, and we
    did a field recording in a guesthouse built like a lighthouse that two very dear friends
    of mine have in Esopus, NY. It was exactly the right environment to work on this
    record. We all had meals together, cried, laughed, and told stories. It was perfect. It
    made me realize how much I love writing, playing and recording music.

    Terrible things happen. These were some terrible things. So, what to do – learn
    something valuable, connect with people, move the fuck out of that apartment,
    remember the humor, find the humor, tell the truth, and make a record. I made a

    Riderless Horse Cover Artwork:

    Riderless Horse Tracklist:

    1. Cork and Pour
    2. Just Stay in Bed
    3. You Were So Mad
    4. This Is Love
    5. Nature
    6. Lazy Road
    7. Ask Me
    8. Blind as Batsies
    9. The Two of Us
    10. Go Away
    11. The Roundabout
    12. Trust
    13. Afterwards
    14. Creek and Chimes

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading