Spielbergs Announce New Album ‘Vestli’, Release New Songs

    Spielbergs have announced their new album Vestli, which will be out on August 19 via Big Scary Monsters. To accompany the announcement, the Norwegian band has shared two new songs, ‘Get Lost’ and ‘When They Come For Me’. Take a listen below.

    Commenting on ‘When They Come For Me’, guitarist Mads Baklien said in a statement: “Sometimes I feel like I am right on the verge of going crazy. It’s like I don’t recognise myself in what I say and do. And sometimes I feel like one day, inevitably everything will come crashing down.”

    Of the album, he added:

    The songs on Vestli are all more or less about a feeling that there is no way to go. No escape. You are dealing with issues in your mind, regrets, shame, fear, should haves and could haves. No way out. Maybe you don’t like who you are or who you have become. You are stuck with being you. You are dealing with a lot of pressure and noise in your everyday life, and all you want to do sometimes is just to leave everything behind and find a quiet place somewhere to start a new life. But you can’t. You have commitments and responsibilities. You’re going nowhere. And now on top of everything, the entire world seems like an out-of-control aeroplane with a bunch of f***ing nuts behind the wheel. And there is no way out. You carry the place you grew up inside you your whole life, for good or bad. Vestli is the name of the suburban borough in the north-eastern part of Oslo where both Stian and I grew up. You can leave Vestli but Vestli never leaves you.

    Vestli Cover Artwork:

    Vestli Tracklist:

    1. The New Year’s Resolution
    2. When They Come For Me
    3. Every Living Creature
    4. Go!
    5. Kano GM
    6. There Is No Way Out
    7. Goodbye
    8. Me and My Friends
    9. Brother of Mine
    10. Get Lost
    11. George McFly
    12. You Can Be Yourself With Me

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading