Katy J Pearson Releases New Song ‘Float’

    Katy J Pearson has shared ‘Float’, the latest single off her forthcoming album Sound of the Morning. The track, which follows previous offerings ‘Talk Over Town’, ‘Alligator’, and ‘Game of Cards’, features black midi’s Morgan Simpson on drums and was co-written with Pet Shimmers frontman Oliver Wilde. Check it out below.

    “I wrote this track with Oliver Wilde, a founding member of the excellent Pet Shimmers – he’s been at the centre of the Bristol music community for several years,” Pearson said in a press release. “For the new album, I wanted to collaborate with some of my peers that I admire, so I jammed with Oli for a few weeks – he’d come round with his laptop and interface and we’d write songs together. ‘Float’ is one of the tracks that came out of those writing sessions and as soon as we wrote it I knew that it had to be on the record; it was one of my favourites to write and I love it. It has such an atmosphere and I think you can really feel the emotion and pain of the song; it’s about life experiences and all the things that lead up to certain moments. It’s quite nostalgic and given the past two years we have had, references wondering about when things will become more stable again.”

    Sound of the Morning comes out July 8 via Heavenly Recordings.

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading