Danny Elfman Announces Remix Album, Collaborates With Iggy Pop on New Song

    Danny Elfman has announced a new remix album called Bigger. Messier., featuring reworkings of songs from his 2021 LP Big Mess. It’s out August 12 via ANTI- and Epitaph. Along with previously shared collaborations with Trent Reznor, Squarepusher, and Zach Hill of Death Grips, the record includes a new version of ‘Kick Me’ with a feature from Iggy Pop. Check it out below.

    Other contributors on Bigger. Messier. include Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith, Boy Harsher, Xiu Xiu, Boris, and Ghostemane. “At the onset of Bigger. Messier., I asked the same thing of every artist: ‘express me through your own eyes,’” Elfman said in a statement. “Not only was I surprised at the artists that wanted to participate, but completely blown away by what everyone contributed.”

    Elfman continued: “There’s a tremendous amount of diversity represented throughout, and I couldn’t be more excited to announce the record with Iggy’s version of ‘Kick Me,’ which not only serves as a reinvention of the song vocally, but instrumentally as well. This record became such an enjoyment of experimentation and relinquishing control of my own work in a way that I’ve never done before.”

    Bigger. Messier. Tracklist:

    1. We Belong (Squarepusher Remix)
    2. Happy (Little Snake Dying in the Club Edition)
    3. Happy (33EMYBW Remix)
    4. Sorry (Kid606 Remix)
    5. We Belong (Rafiq Bhatia Remix)
    6. Kick Me (Zach Hill Remix)
    7. Insects (Machine Girl Insecticidal Tendencies Remix)
    8. Serious Ground (Xiu Xiu Remix)
    9. Cruel Compensation (The Locust Remix)
    10. Everybody Loves You (Boris Remix)
    11. True [feat. Trent Reznor]
    12. In Time [feat. Blixa Bargeld]
    13. In Time (Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith Remix)
    14. Native Intelligence [feat. Trent Reznor]
    15. Kick Me [feat. Iggy Pop
    16. Kick Me [feat. Fever333]
    17. In Time (HEALTH Remix)
    18. Native Intelligence (Ghostemane Natural Selection Remix) [ft. Trent Reznor]
    19. Happy (Boy Harsher Remix)
    20. True (Stu Brooks Remix) [feat. Trent Reznor]
    21. Happy (Little Snake Lunar Climax Edition)

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading