Plains (Waxahatchee and Jess Williamson) Announce Debut Album, Share New Song ‘Problem With It’

    Waxahatchee’s Katie Crutchfield and Jess Williamson have announced a new collaborative album, I Walked With You A Ways, under the name Plains. It’s slated for release on October 14 via ANTI-. The pair have also shared the record’s first single, ‘Problem With It’. Check it out below, and scroll down for the album cover, tracklist, and Plains’ upcoming tour dates.

    The pair wrote the new album between Kansas City, Los Angeles, and Marfa. It was recorded in Durham, NC with producer Brad Cook, who also produced Waxahatchee’s Saint Cloud and Great Thunder EP, and a band that featured Spencer Tweedy and Phil Cook.

    “I’m thrilled to announce this new project and album,” Crutchfield said in a press release. “I’ve felt a connection to Jess’s songwriting and a kinship with her since we met years ago. Getting to lean into the influence of the music we both grew up with while also making something that feels very current and fresh to me was a great experience and I’m so happy to finally share it.”

    Williamson added: “Making this record with Katie was a deeply expansive experience for me as a songwriter. I really trust her ear and sensibilities, and she encouraged me to explore aspects of my songwriting that in the past I’ve shied away from. Katie’s support was so important for me as we wrote this album. We gave ourselves permission to lean into the music that raised us and write the kind of classic timeless songs that we both grew up singing along to. For me that was The Chicks and Dolly Parton, and having a place to channel those influences was an absolute blast. My hope with Plains was to tap into something Universal. I love the album we made, and I’m so excited to play it live.”

    I Walked With You A Ways Cover Artwork:

    I Walked With You A Ways Tracklist:

    1. Summer Sun
    2. Problem With It
    3. Line of Sight
    4. Abeline
    5. Hurricane
    6. Bellafatima
    7. Last 2 On Earth
    8. Easy
    9. No Record Of Wrongs
    10. I Walked With You A Ways

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading