Animal Collective Announce ‘The Inspection’ Soundtrack, Share New Song ‘Crucible’

    Animal Collective have detailed their score for the upcoming A24 film The Inspection, which features original compositions from the band as well as contributions from Indigo de Souza. Today, they’ve shared the first preview of the soundtrack with the song ‘Crucible’. Check it out below.

    Based on the life of writer and director Elegance Bratton, The Inspection follows “a young, Black, gay man, Ellis French, ostracized from his family and opportunity,” per a press release. “Ellis joins the Marines to provide for himself, and in boot camp, he encounters more than just physical obstacles obstructing his path.”

    “I wanted us to conjure the feeling of being strong but also showing vulnerability,” Animal Collective’s Avey Tare said in a statement. “The desire to ask a community or a loved one to have your back and support you and the expectation that it will happen.”

    “We were very inspired by the music of our composers Animal Collective,” Bratton commented. “We wanted to create the right rhythms to blur the line between what French thinks is real and what is really happening. So those fantasy sequences could serve as the evolution of French’s inner life. In essence, we wanted to create a sense of the stir craziness of the monotony of boot camp, juxtaposed with the massive transformation Ellis French undergoes. Animal Collective provides the perfect backdrop to shrink and expand the time according to the emotion.”

    The Inspection soundtrack arrives on November 18. Animal Collective released their latest album, Time Skiffs, earlier this year.

    The Inspection Tracklist:

    1. Shelter to Inez
    2. Birth Certificate
    3. Bus Ride
    4. Laws Beat
    5. Seeing Rosales
    6. Buzz Cuts
    7. Reveille
    8. Caterpillars
    9. Phase 1
    10. Shower Fantasy (Movie Edit)
    11. Shower Fantasy (Original Mix)
    12. Shower Anger
    13. Thanksgiving
    14. Stress Position
    15. Drills
    16. Phase 2
    17. Drowning Man
    18. Flashlights
    19. Human Target
    20. Cover Up
    21. Phone Call
    22. Phase 3
    23. War Paint
    24. Crucible
    25. Fight Pit
    26. Disappear French
    27. Oohrah
    28. Sixteen With Nobody
    29. Reflection
    30. Wish I Knew You [feat. Indigo De Souza]

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading