Nakhane Announces New Album ‘Bastard Jargon’, Releases ‘Leading Lines’ EP

    Nakhane has announced their third studio album, Bastard Jargon, which is due out next spring via BMG. Today’s announcement coincides with the release of the South African artist’s Leading Lines EP, which features the previously shared singles  ‘Tell Me Your Politik’ (featuring Moonchild Sanelly and Nile Rodgers) and ‘Do You Well’ (with Perfume Genius), as well as a new track called ‘You’ve Got Me (Living Again)’. All the songs on Leading Lines will also appear on the LP. Listen to it below, and scroll down for Bastard Jargon‘s cover art and full tracklist.

    “It’s an existential sex album,” Nakhane said of Bastard Jargon in a press statement. “Almost every song on it has some kind of wink towards sex. It’s not necessarily a seductive, come to me, bedroom eyes kind of sex – it’s much more inquisitive, psychological sex. When I wrote ‘You Will Not Die’ it was at the end of my relationship with Christianity, and then when I wrote ‘Bastard Jargon’ I’d moved to London and I threw myself into just wanting to feel good.”

    Bastard Jargon Cover Artwork:

    Bastard Jargon Tracklist:

    1. The Caring
    2. Tell Me Your Politik [feat. Moonchild Sanelly & Nile Rodgers]
    3. The Conjecture
    4. Hold Me Down
    5. Hear Me Moan
    6. Do You Well [feat. Perfume Genius]
    7. My Ma Was Good
    8. You’ve Got Me (Living Again)
    9. Standing in Our Way
    10. If You Were to Complain

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading