Caroline Rose Announces New Album ‘The Art of Forgetting’, Shares Video for New Song ‘Miami’

    Caroline Rose has announced a new album: The Art of Forgetting will be out March 24 on New West Records. Today, the singer-songwriter has shared the new single ‘Miami’, which arrives with a Sam Bennett-directed video in which Rose plays a version of themself alongside Massima Bel. Check it out and see the album cover and tracklist below.

    Speaking about the track in a press release, Rose commented: “I’m not one to shy away from drama, and so this was a perfect opportunity to really bring out every ounce of desperation and anger and all those confusing emotions that happen after a big heartbreak.”

    “For the ʻMiamiʼ video, I was mainly focused on what would be the most effective way to move people in regards to the two characters and how they interact,” Rose added. “Because this is a sort of loose recreation of some things in my life it was important to me to interpret the feeling of that time as accurately as we could within 4 minutesʼ time. Sam, who is a dear friend of mine and brilliant director, thought a great way to capture that fever-dream-like quality was to create a lot of movement with a continuous shot. He showed me different lenses and cameras to use and we ultimately went with an anamorphic, Old Hollywood-esque feel, which gives it that nostalgia thinking back on a time past.”

    Threaded throughout the album are voicemails from Rose’s grandmother, “who was clearly losing her mind,” the artist said. “It got me thinking about all the different ways memory shows up throughout our lives. It can feel like a curse or be wielded as a tool.”

    “Every time I make an album Iʼll come out of it learning a lot about myself,” Rose concluded. “Now I look back and see the healing of a wound. I feel like a new version of myself. I think one for the better.”

    The Art of Forgetting Cover Artwork:

    The Art of Forgetting Tracklist:

    1. Love / Lover / Friend
    2. Rebirth
    3. Miami
    4. Better Than Gold
    5. Everywhere I Go I Bring the Rain
    6. The Doldrums
    7. The Kiss
    8. Cornbread
    9. Stockholm Syndrome
    10. Tell Me What You Want
    11. Florida Room
    12. Love Song For Myself
    13. Jill Says
    14. Where Do I Go From Here?

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading