LIES Announce Debut Album, Release New Single ‘Resurrection’

    LIES, the project of American Football members and cousins Mike Kinsella and Nate Kinsella, have announced their debut album. The self-titled LP will be released on March 31 via Polyvinyl. Check out a video for the new single ‘Resurrection’ along with the album artwork and tracklist below.

    “I’m not used to putting any gold-linings or much of any positive spin into my songs (there’s already enough of that garbage existing in the world), but writing about conquering whatever shame and guilt I have for whatever wants and desires I have, felt cathartic / almost therapeutic for me,” Mike Kinsella said in a statement. “The process of writing it and expressing the value in actually believing it has helped me feel more confident and assured with who I am and what I want (dare I say, ‘need’…).”

    “‘Resurrection’ is a celebration song about reawakening a part of the self that has been hidden away in hibernation,” Nate Kinsella added. “We used mirrors and some camera angle trickery to superimpose our heads onto the bodies of a couple of professional dancers, whose movements illustrate a kind of unselfconscious joy and freedom – feelings that maybe we have a hard time accessing, or tapping into. I hope the video transmits the sense of fun and liberation that we envisioned (and experienced!) when making it.”

    LIES have already shared a series of singles that will appear on the LP, including ‘Camera Chimera’, ‘Summer Somewhere’, ‘Corbeau’, ‘Blemishes’, and ‘Echoes’.

    Lies Cover Artwork:

    Lies Tracklist:

    1. Blemishes
    2. Echoes
    3. Corbeau
    4. Resurrection
    5. Broken
    6. Camera Chimera
    7. Summer Somewhere
    8. No Shame
    9. Rouge Vermouth
    10. Knife
    11. Sympathetic Eyes
    12. Merely

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading