Hand Habits Announces ‘Sugar the Bruise’, Releases New Song ‘Something Wrong’

    Hand Habits, the project of Los Angeles-based artist Meg Duffy, has announced a new record titled Sugar the Bruise. The six-track collection is out June 16 via Fat Possum, and its first single, ‘Something Wrong’, is out today. Check it out below.

    Sugar the Bruise, the follow-up to Hand Habits’ 2021 LP Fun House, was made with Luke Temple (Here We Go Magic, Art Feynman) and Philip Weinrobe (Adrianne Lenker, Cass McCombs). It was inspired by a month-long songwriting class Duffy taught in the summer of 2021. “For Sugar the Bruise, I had no plan other than to let my mind go blank, and lean into the playful side of things,” Duffy explained in a statement. “To laugh a little, to lighten up, to shift the focus off of my own experience a bit.”

    Sugar the Bruise Cover Artwork:

    Sugar the Bruise Tracklist:

    1. Something Wrong
    2. The Gift of the Human Curse
    3. Andy in Stereo
    4. Private Life
    5. The Book on How to Change pt.3
    6. The Bust of Nefertiti

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading