Kassa Overall Announces New Album ‘ANIMALS’, Shares Video for New Single

    Kassa Overall has announced a new album titled ANIMALS, which will be out May 26 via Warp. The LP includes the early single ‘Ready to Ball’, as well as contributions from Danny Brown, Wiki, Vijay Iyer, Shabazz Palaces, Lil B, Laura Mvula, Francis and the Lights, and more. New track ‘Make My Way Back Home’ features Nick Hakim and Theo Croker and arrives longside an accompanying video. Check it out below.

    Commenting on the album’s title, Overall said: “We call ourselves humans, right? But we kind of do animalistic shit towards each other. We justify immorality by almost stripping people of their humanity. He’s an animal, so we can treat him as such. All these different kinds of little questions in these songs point to questions about humanity: am I free? Or am I a circus animal? These questions intersect with the way I think about race.”

    ANIMALS Cover Artwork:

    ANIMALS Tracklist:

    1. Anxious Anthony [feat. Anthony Ware]
    2. Ready To Ball
    3. Clock Ticking [feat. Danny Brown & Wiki]
    4. Still Ain’t Find Me [feat. Tomoki Sanders, Bendji Allonce, Mike King & Ian Finklestein]
    5. Make My Way Back Home [feat. Nick Hakim & Theo Croker]
    6. The Lava Is Calm [feat. Theo Croker]
    7. No It Ain’t [feat. Andrae Murchison]
    8. So Happy [feat. Laura Mvula & Francis and the Lights]
    9. It’s Animals
    10. Maybe We Can Stay [feat. J. Hoard]
    11. The Score Was Made [feat. Vijay Iyer]
    12. Going Up [feat. Lil B, Shabazz Palaces & Francis and the Lights]

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading