Wolf Eyes Announce New Album ‘Dreams in Splattered Lines’, Release New Songs

    Wolf Eyes – the Michigan-based experimental collective led by Nate Young and John Olson – have announced their new LP Dreams in Splattered Lines. It’s set to arrive on May 26 via Disciples. To mark the news, they’ve shared three new songs: ‘Engaged Withdrawal’, ‘My Whole Life’, and ‘Days Decay’. Take a listen below.

    “This record was recorded after we finished the New York Public Library residency in early 2022,” Young explained in a press release. “We had spent a lot of time in NYC during the residency but because of Covid we had limited access to the Library archives. We would spend 4-5 hours at the library and then go to museums. The MET’s Surrealism Beyond Borders exhibit was a huge influence on this record. Learning about the Chicago Surrealists’ spoken-word poetry performed with musicians was inspiring and affirmative. While Surrealism could generate often poetic and even humorous works, it was also taken up as a far more serious weapon in the struggle for political, social, and personal freedom, and by many more artists around the world.”

    “We started by continuing to explore the ideas of short dense sound collages that had similar behaviors to ‘hit singles’,” Young continued. “Using a lot of ideas that we established on the Difficult Messages series, we started to look at hit songs like terrariums: folding the idea of music and sound happening inside sound environments we created in the studio. The record starts with a Car Wash that includes a Short Hands track playing on the car radio while waves of white noise and contact microphones are plunging into water buckets. The track is then played in a car while going through an actual car wash and finally layered and mixed in the studio.”

    Olson added: “Dreams in Splattered Lines is the latest in Wolf Eyes’ journey into the corners of unknown electronic subterranean worlds. Thirteen tangled stories razor sharp from the duo’s recent Difficult Messages singles foray starting with a unique ‘suite’ from ‘Radio Box’ to ‘Engaged Withdrawl’ and ending with the grim title track, here is Wolf Eyes at their most abstract yet corrupted listening experience yet. For a group that would rather invent genres rather than follow them, Dreams in Splattered Lines is the twisted road that leads another 25 years onward to the unquenchable passion of unknown arcane electronic worlds. Music dreamt in 242 B.C. and horribly born in 20042 A.D.”

    Dreams in Splattered Lines Cover Artwork:

    Dreams in Splattered Lines Tracklist:

    1. Car Wash Two w/ Short Hands
    2. Radio Box (Excerpt)
    3. Plus Warning
    4. Engaged Withdrawal
    5. Exploding Time
    6. My Whole Life
    7. The Museums We Carry
    8. Pointerstare
    9. Comforts of the Mind
    10. In Society
    11. Find You (Vocal)
    12. Days Decay
    13. Dreams in Shattered Time

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading