Kitba Announces Debut Album, Shares New Single ‘My Words Don’t Work’

    Brooklyn-based harpist and songwriter Rebecca Kitba Bryson El-Saleh, who records as Kitba, has announced their self-titled debut LP. It’s out July 21 on Ruination Record Co., and its lead single, ‘My Words Don’t Work’, is out today. Check it out and find the album cover and tracklist below.

    “I tried not to put this on the album and was initially embarrassed to show it to Zubin Hensler, who engineered, co-produced, and mixed the record,” Kitba said in a press release. “The vulnerability of saying something this direct felt uncomfortable, but Zubin was supportive and (thankfully) insistent that it be a part of the record. There was an initial version (that got released on a benefit compilation for Whateverʼs Clever) that was just harp and voice, recorded together a foot from Zubin in the control room of his Sunset Park studio, but I had another more demoed out version that I couldnʼt get out of my head. This is the only song I have ever pushed to reimagine. I see it as being addressed to someone external or internal, about an inability to articulate oneself and the yearning felt when trying to convey anything that means anything.”

    Kitba Cover Artwork:

    Kitba Tracklist:

    1. Tell Me What I Am
    2. My Words Don’t Work
    3. Peel Away the Rind
    4. I’m Empty
    5. Tied To Strings
    6. Untie the Binds
    7. This Body
    8. It’s Just Me
    9. Waiting
    10. Spilling Out
    11. Doing It Wrong

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading