Ratboys Announce New Album ‘The Window’, Share Video for New Single

    Raboys have announced their next album, The Window. The follow-up to 2020’s Printer’s Devil arrives August 25 via Topshelf Records. Produced by Chris Walla at Hall of Justice Recording Studio in Seattle, the record includes the early single, ‘Black Earth, WI’, one of our songs of the week. New track ‘It’s Alive!’ captures “the overarching feeling of the world spinning on beneath you while you’re stuck in one place,” according to vocalist/guitarist Julia Steiner, and it comes with a John TerEick-directed video. Check it out below, and scroll down for the album artwork and tracklist.

    The Window marks the first LP Ratboys have written collaboratively from start to finish, with bassist Sean Neumann and drummer Marcus Nuccio having joined the group as full-time members. “We spent 2020 demoing the songs, and spent 2021 practicing them,” Steiner said in a statement. “We practiced twice a week for six months, exploring the songs and developing them. Weʼd send early versions to Chris and heʼd give us notes. It went like that for weeks. It was such a dedicated and intentional process.”

    Guitarist Dave Sagan added: “The language Chris uses when speaking about music comes from a very emotionally centered place, and thatʼs something that resonated with us. He would say things like, ʻThis cymbal hurts my feelings,ʼ or ʻThis song is like a cat.”

    “It was such a disarming thing,” Neumann shared. “We didn’t get bogged down in technical terms, and he never placed pressure on us in that way. With Chris steering the ship, we were free to go off on little creative expeditions and come up with parts and ideas weʼd never imagined.”

    The Window Cover Artwork:

    The Window Tracklist:

    1. Making Noise for the Ones You Love
    2. Morning Zoo
    3. Crossed that Line
    4. It’s Alive!
    5. No Way
    6. The Window
    7. Empty
    8. Break
    9. Black Earth, WI
    10. I Want You (Fall 2010)
    11. Bad Reaction

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading