Deeper Announce New Album ‘Careful!’, Share New Song ‘Build a Bridge’

    Deeper have announced a new album, Careful!, their debut for Sub Pop. It’s out on September 8. The band recorded the LP at Palisade Studios in Chicago with help from producer/engineer Dave Vettraino. Lead single ‘Build a Bridge’ today arrives with a video directed by Austin Vesely. Check it out and find the album’s cover art and tracklist below.

    “‘Build a Bridge’ was the first song written remotely in a new format that would come to define the writing process of Careful!,” Deeper explained in a statement. “In the early days of the band, we would throw shit at the wall in our practice space and see what stuck. Being forced to stay in our apartments during lockdown allowed us to apply more intention to a song and really dissect it piece by piece.”

    “We worked with Austin Vesely (Chance the Rapper, Whitney) on the video in which the band is hooked up to a machine, taking turns controlling alternate versions of ourselves in a different dimension,” they added. “The sequence keeps repeating with each of us failing, but each attempt equips us with more knowledge from these prior failures to eventually succeed in vanquishing the spirit.”

    Careful! Cover Artwork:

    Careful! Tracklist:

    1. Build a Bridge
    2. Heat Lamp
    3. Glare
    4. Tele
    5. Bite
    6. Pilsen 4th
    7. Sub
    8. Fame
    9. Everynight
    10. Airplane Air
    11. devil-loc
    12. Dualbass
    13. Pressure

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading