Shamir Announces New Album ‘Homo Anxietatem’, Shares New Single ‘Oversized Sweater’

    Shamir has announced his ninth album and debut for Kill Rock Stars, Homo Anxietatem. The follow-up to 2022’s Heterosexuality is out August 18. The 11-track LP was recorded and produced by Hoost (aka Justin Tailor) in London. Today, Shamir has released its first single, ‘Oversized Sweater’. Check out its accompanying video and find the album cover and tracklist below.

    “The first quarter of 2020 before lockdown I felt a lot of anxiety,” Shamir shared in a press release. “I was fresh out the psych ward and had quit smoking weed and cigarettes cold turkey. I spent the first couple months of 2020 knitting this huge baby blue sweater. It’s basically a wearable security blanket that I used to channel all my anxiety into. I wear it all the time, but most notably in the video for my song ‘Diet.’”

    On the video, he added: “I found this room set in LA and knew it would be perfect for the video. It was shot and co directed by myself and my friend and tour manager Felix Donate Perez.”

    Homo Anxietatem Cover Artwork:

    Homo Anxietatem Tracklist:

    1. Oversized Sweater
    2. Wandering Through
    3. Our Song
    4. Appetizer
    5. Calloused
    6. Crime
    7. The Beginning
    8. Without You
    9. Obsession
    10. Words
    11. The Devil Said the Blues is All I’ll Know

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading