Susanna Announces New Album ‘Baudelaire & Orchestra’, Shares New Single

    Norwegian singer-songwriter Susanna has announced a new album, Baudelaire & Orchestra, which comes out July 28 via SusannaSonata. It’s the latest in a series of albums exploring the work and persona of French poet Charles Baudelaire, following 2020’s Baudelaire and Piano and last year’s Elevation. Listen to the new single ‘Obsession’ below.

    On the new album, Susanna is joined by Oslo’s KORK orchestra. The music was arranged by Jarle G. Storløkken, with contributions from composer Jan Martin Smørdal, while Deathprod produced and mastered the record.

    “I’ve been wanting to develop this material since the first Baudelaire album,” Susanna remarked in a press release. “There’s a bit more complexity in the harmonies and the rhythms than you can hear in the bare piano arrangements. I think these songs have become even more accessible in these orchestral versions, and I hope many more people will be able to enjoy the music.”

    Baudelaire & Orchestra Cover Artwork:

    Baudelaire & Orchestra Tracklist:

    1. Sarcophagi
    2. Obsession
    3. The Ghost
    4. Burial
    5. Heavy Sleep
    6. Destruction
    7. Rewind
    8. Longing for Nothingness,
    9. Alchemy of Suffering
    10. Elevation
    11. The Vampire

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading