Courtney Barnett Announces New Album ‘End of the Day’, Shares New Songs

    Courtney Barnett has announced a new album called End of the Day. The entirely instrumental LP will arrive on September 8 via Milk! Records in conjunction with Mom+Pop, marking the final release on Barnett’s own Milk! Records; after more than a decade, the label will be closing down at the end of the year. To preview the record, the singer-songwriter has shared three new tracks – ‘Start Somewhere’, ‘Life Balance’, and ‘First Slow’ – alongside a visual directed by Claire Vogel. Check it out below.

    “It has been one of the great honours of my life to be a part of this incredible community and to work alongside so many amazing artists,” Barnett said in a statement. “Thank you to every single person who has been part of the Milk! Records journey, it wouldn’t be the same without you.” The label has been home to artists including Liz Stringer, Hachiku, East Brunswick All Girls Choir, Tiny Ruins, Hand Habits, Sleater-Kinney, and more.

    End of the Day initially came together in May 2021, when Barnett and producer Stella Mozgawa had just handed in the masters for Barnett’s third album, Things Take Time, Take Time. The pair met filmmaker Danny Cohen in a Melbourne studio, improvising as he showed them the final edit of his documentary Anonymous Club with one guiding principle: “nothing too maudlin, obvious, or instructive, nothing to tell the future audience how they should be feeling about Barnett’s life onscreen.”

    End of the Day Cover Artwork:

    End of the Day Tracklist: 

    1. Start Somewhere
    2. Life Balance
    3. First Slow
    4. A to B
    5. (Electricity)
    6. Two Circles Reflecting
    7. End of the Day
    8. Floating Down
    9. Spring Ascends
    10. Intro
    11. B to C
    12. Like Water
    13. Gold Room
    14. Sun Through
    15. River
    16. Get on With It
    17. Eternity Repeat

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading