King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard Detail New Album ‘The Silver Cord’, Share New Single

    King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard have announced that their latest album, The Silver Cord, will be released on October 27. The album’s opening suite – ‘Theia’, ‘The Silver Cord’, and ‘Set’ – is out today alongside an accompanying video. Check it out below.

    The new LP, which follows June’s PetroDragonic Apocalypse; or, Dawn of Eternal Night: An Annihilation of Planet Earth and the Beginning of Merciless Damnation, will be available in two versions. “The first version’s really condensed, trimming all the fat,” Stu Mackenzie explained in a press release. “And on the second version, that first song, ‘Theia,’ is 20 minutes long. It’s the ‘everything’ version – those seven songs you’ve already heard on the first version, but with a whole lot of other shit we record while making it. It’s for the Gizz-heads.”

    “I love Donna Summer’s records with Giorgio Moroder, and I’d never listen to the short versions now – I’m one of those people who wants to hear the whole thing,” Mackenzie continued. “We’re testing the boundaries of people’s attention spans when it comes to listening to music, perhaps – but I’m heavily interested in destroying such concepts.”

    The Silver Cord Cover Artwork:

    The Silver Cord Tracklist:

    1. Theia
    2. The Silver Cord
    3. Set
    4. Chang’e
    5. Gilgamesh
    6. Swan Song
    7. Extinction

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading