Adrianne Lenker Announces New Album ‘Bright Future’, Releases New Song ‘Sadness as a Gift’

    Adrianne Lenker has announced a new album called Bright Future. The Big Thief bandleader’s follow-up to 2020’s songs and instrumentals is set to arrive March 22 via 4AD. Along with the previously unveiled ‘Ruined’ and the original recording of Big Thief’s ‘Vampire Empire’, it will feature the new single ‘Sadness as a Gift’. Check it out and see the album cover and tracklist below.

    Co-produced by Philip Weinrobe, Bright Future includes contributions from Nick Hakim, Mat Davidson, and Josefin Runstee, who joined Lenker at the analog studio Double Infinity. “It felt like everyone’s nervous systems released,” Lenker said in a statement about the recording process.  “Once we were in the song, somehow we just knew. No one stopped a take. We didn’t listen back. I only listened after everybody else left.”.

    Bright Future Cover Artwork:

    Bright Future Tracklist:

    1. Real House
    2. Sadness As A Gift
    3. Fool
    4. No Machine
    5. Free Treasure
    6. Vampire Empire
    7. Evol
    8. Candleflame
    9. Already Lost
    10. Cell Phone Says
    11. Donut Seam
    12. Ruined

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading