METZ Announce New Album ‘Up on Gravity Hill’, Share New Songs

    METZ have announced Up on Gravity Hill, their first album in four years. The follow-up to 2020’s Atlas Vending is due out April 12 via Sub Pop. The LP was engineered by Seth Manchester and features guest performances from Amber Webber of Black Mountain and composer Owen Pallett. Today, the band has shared two songs from it, ’99’ and ‘Entwined (Street Light Buzz)’. Take a listen below.

    “These two songs couldn’t be more stylistically and thematically dissimilar,” the band’s Alex Edkins said in a statement. “‘Entwined (Street Light Buzz)’ is a song about the deep connection humans can foster with one another and how we carry people with us forever, even after death. ‘99’ is about the scourge of corporate greed and bottom-line thinking that runs rampant in modern society. Anything for a buck is the message being sent to younger generations.”

    Up on Gravity Hill Cover Artwork:

    Up on Gravity Hill Tracklist:

    1. No Reservation / Love Comes Crashing
    2. Glass Eye
    3. Entwined (Street Light Buzz)
    4. 99
    5. Superior Mirage
    6. Wound Tight
    7. Never Still Again
    8. Light Your Way Home

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading