Blunt Chunks Announces Debut Album ‘The Butterfly Myth’, Shares New Single

    Blunt Chunks – the project of Toronto artist Caitlin Woelfle-O’Brien – has announced her debut album, The Butterfly Myth. It’s set for release on April 19 via Telephone Explosion. Today’s announcement comes with the release of the new single ‘Psyche’s Flight’, which features drummer Duncan Hood and keyboardist Nick Nausbaum – Woelfle-O’Brien’s bandmates in Jaunt – as well as percussionist Ed Squires, saxophonist Karen Ng, and keyboardist Diego Gaeta. Check it out below.

    “‘Psyche’s Flight’ is a simple song about feeling better and being kinder to yourself,” Woelfle-O’Brien explained in a statement. “It was February, I had lost my Dad a few months prior, and I had the opportunity to partake in an artist residency on a Permaculture farm in Mexico. I escaped the Ontario Winter and felt the warm sun on me for the first time in ages. I wrote this song a week into the residency on the rooftop patio. I finally didn’t feel so depressed anymore and I guess it’s about that freeing, hopeful feeling you get when you travel somewhere new and beautiful. On a production level, I wanted the instrumentals to be euphoric and sunshiny. Like you’re immersed in a beautiful, new landscape for the first time. Duncan’s drumming really spiced things up and Karen’s sax harmonies give the layers of euphoria I was after.”

    Recorded at Patchwork Sound studio, The Butterfly Myth also includes contributions from studio head David Plowman, co-producer Nathan Burley, as well as members of Queer Songbook Orchestra, Beverly Glenn-Copeland, Bernice, Mother Tongues, and more. “Getting together with people to create something is that much more special because, as you get older, you know what it’s like to be home alone, to be a little lost and isolated, wondering where your friends are,” Woelfle-O’Brien said. “To have so many people lift me up when I can’t lift myself up is a really beautiful part of the Blunt Chunks project”.

    In 2022, Blunt Chunks released a self-titled EP, which made our best EPs of 2022 list.

    The Butterfly Myth Cover Artwork:

    The Butterfly Myth Tracklist:

    1. Fill My Cup
    2. Psyche’s Flight
    3. High Hopes
    4. Limbo
    5. Every Day
    6. You Are My Love
    7. Breathe
    8. Higher
    9. Can’t Be The End

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading