James Elkington and Nathan Salsburg Announce New Album ‘All Gist’, Cover Neneh Cherry’s ‘Buffalo Stance’

    James Elkington and Nathan Salsburg have announced All Gist, their third collaborative album of guitar duets. It’s due for release on April 12 via Paradise of Bachelors. Today, they’ve unveiled a rendition of Neneh Cherry’s ‘Buffalo Stance’ as the lead single. Take a listen below.

    “While playing a few rounds of Neneh Cherry’s transcendent ‘Buffalo Stance’ for my toddler, I was struck for the first time (at least since c. 1988) by how fantastic some of its riffs are,” Salsburg explained in a statement. “I suggested to Jim that we work up an arrangement for two guitars. Jim was initially doubtful — it’s a lot of rapping — but within an hour he sent back a one-guitar demo of most of the constituent melodic elements. It sent me into paroxysms of joy, only exceeded by the eventual thrill of sitting down together and hammering out our collaborative version.”

    Following 2015’s Ambsace, All Gist features Jean Cook on strings, Anna Jacobson on brass, Wednesday Knudsen on woodwinds, Nick Macri on bass, and Wanees Zarour on violin.

    Last December, Elkington released his latest LP Me Neither.

    All Gist Cover Artwork:

    All Gist Tracklist:

    1. Death Wishes to Kill
    2. Long in the Tooth Again
    3. Numb Limbs
    4. Nicest Distinction
    5. Well, Well, Cornelius
    6. Explanation Point
    7. Fears of This Nature
    8. Rule Bretagne
    9. All Gist Could Be Yours
    10. Buffalo Stance

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading