John Cale Announces New Album ‘POPtical Illusion’, Shares New Single

    John Cale has announced a new album titled POPtical Illusion. The follow-up to last year’s MERCY is set to arrive on June 14 via Double Six/Domino. Today’s announcement comes with the release of the new single ‘How We See the Light’, paired with a video from director Pepi Ginsberg. Watch and listen below.

    POPtical Illusion was produced by Cale and longtime collaborator Nita Scott in his Los Angeles studio. In contrast to MERCY, which featured collaborations with Animal Collective, Weyes Blood, Sylvan Esso, Laurel Halo, and more, the new album finds him burrowing “mostly alone into mazes of synthesizers and samples, organs and pianos, with words that, as far as Cale goes, constitute a sort of swirling hope, a sage insistence that change is yet possible,” according to a press release.

    POPtical Illusion Cover Artwork:

    POPtical Illusion Tracklist:

    1. God Made Me Do It (don’t ask me again)
    2. Davies and Wales
    3. Calling You Out
    4. Edge of Reason
    5. I’m Angry
    6. How We See The Light
    7. Company Commander
    8. Setting Fires
    9. Shark-Shark
    10. Funkball the Brewster
    11. All To The Good
    12. Laughing In My Sleep
    13. There Will Be No River

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading