Efterklang Announce New Album ‘Things We Have in Common’, Enlist Mabe Fratti for New Single ‘Plant’

    Efterklang have announced their new album, Things We Have In Common, which arrives September 27 via City Slang. The LP completes the trilogy that began with 2019’s Altid Sammen and continued with 2021’s Windflowers. It includes the previously unveiled song ‘Getting Reminders’, as well as a new single, ‘Plant’, which features Guatemalan composer Mabe Fratti on cello and vocals. Check out its accompanying video, directed by Søren Lynggaard and Niels Buhl Henriksen, and scroll down for the album’s cover and tracklist below.

    According to vocalist Casper Clausen, ‘Plant’ is “a song dedicated to the act of reaching out, beyond ourselves, daring to go beyond our inner world and share ourselves with others, putting our vulnerability on display, like a plant reaching for the light. This is one of the first songs we wrote for the new album, and it’s been a long journey, starting from a sketch by our longtime friend, collaborator, and co-founder of Efterklang, pianist Rune Mølgaard.”

    Fratti added that recording the song “was extremely joyful as I remember witnessing the song developing when I went with Efterklang to Sommertræf two years ago. It’s a breeze, this song. I felt that Casper’s tone and mine are super friendly with each other!”

    Pianist and composer Rune Mølgaard formed Efterklang, who left the band after their 2007 sophomore LP Parades, co-wrote seven of the nine songs on the record. During his absence, Rune fell in love with a woman who had grown up in the Mormon Church and embraced the religion himself; in 2022, he cut ties with the Mormon Church.

    “Towards the end of the album process we talked about belonging, in relation to Rune’s journey — how he no longer found that feeling in the church,” Rasmus Stolberg explained. “We talked about how Casper’s sense of belonging is tied to something nomadic, and about how Mads and I associate this with our families.”

    “It became a completely therapeutic process for me,” Mølgaard reflected. “When we write music together, it happens from a genuinely curious place, in a shared experience of the moment.”

    In addition to Fratti, Things We Have In Common includes contributions from Finnish drummer Tatu Rönkkö and Venezuelan guitarist Hector Tosta, while the South Denmark Girls’ Choir sing on ‘Animated Heart’ and ‘To a New Day’.

    Things We Have In Common Cover Artwork: 

    Things We Have In Common Tracklist: 

    1. Balancing Stones
    2. Plant
    3. Getting Reminders
    4. Ambulance
    5. Leave It All Behind
    6. Animated Heart
    7. Shelf Break
    8. Sentiment
    9. To A New Day

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading