Wilco Announce New EP ‘Hot Sun Cool Shroud’

    Wilco have announced a new EP, Hot Sun Cool Shroud. It will be out June 28 in conjunction with their music festival Solid Sound Festival, which takes place at the Massachusetts Museum of Contemporary Art in North Adams, Massachusetts. Festival attendees will have the chance to not only purchase a limited white vinyl run of the EP, but also create their own cover art by using stickers from artist Kathleen Ryan’s “Bad Fruit” collection. Take a look at the EP tracklist along with an example of artwork below.

    “It’s fun to have something new to release at Solid Sound,” Jeff Tweedy said in a statement. “This year we’re putting out an EP with a summertime-after-dark kind of feeling. It starts off pretty hot, like heat during the day, has some instrumentals on it that are a little agitated and uncomfortable and ends with a cooling breeze. There are tracks on Hot Sun Cool Shroud that are more aggressive and angular than anything we’ve put out in a while, and a song about love melting you like ice cream into a puddle of sugary soup. All the pieces of summer, including the broody cicadas.”

    This year’s Solid Sound lineup features Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit, Dry Cleaning, Nick Lowe & Los Straitjackets, Wednesday, Horsegirl, Ratboys, Water From Your Eyes, Fenne Lily, Joanna Sternberg, Soul Glo, and more.

    Wilco’s most recent album was last year’s Cousin.

    Hot Sun Cool Shroud EP Tracklist:

    1. Hot Sun
    2. Livid
    3. Ice Cream
    4. Annihilation
    5. Inside The Bell Bones
    6. Say You Love Me

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading