Clothing Announce Debut Album ‘From Memory’, Enlist L’Rain for New Song

    Clothing – the duo of Aakaash Israni (Dawn of Midi) and Ben Sterling (Cookies, Mobius Band) – have announce their debut album, From Memory. It’s scheduled to arrive on July 28. Following ‘Kingdom’ (featuring Dirty Projectors’ Amber Coffman) and ‘Modern Interiors’ (with Anna Wise), the group have teamed up with L’Rain for their latest single, ‘Still Rain’. Check it out and find the album artwork and tracklist below.

    “‘Still Point’ is a song about love and devotion, and the fear of losing those things,” Sterling explained in a statement. “It is a banal, cruel fact that love is so self-evidently what life is about, yet it opens us up to visitations from the worst horrors imaginable. There are so many ways to lose something irreplaceable: breakup, serious illness, plane crash…Any time I’m reminded of this, I fill with terror: ‘It’s a long way down to the bottom now.’”

    “After we heard L’Rain’s beautiful performance, we went back and rearranged the chorus to give her voice even more space,” Israni added. “That’s how we ended up with such a bare, almost solemn first chorus compared to the more ecstatic second. She chose this song right away and brought so much pathos to her performance. Her wordless outro vocal is sublime.”

    L’Rain had this to say about the collaboration: “Sometimes singing can feel overwhelming or scary, but not this time: it felt really liberating to record this music and to have Ben and Aakaash trust me to put a little bit of myself into it. I’m so grateful!”

    The making of From Memory stretched out over 10 years, through the birth of children, cross-country moves, and searching for the right vocal collaborators. “We learned that it’s incredibly hard to imagine a voice singing a song that it hasn’t sung yet,” Sterling commented. It was like casting a dream. And though the process stretched over years, it’s hard to argue with the results from Coffman’s powerful delivery, L’Rain’s hypnotic timbre, Wise’s earthy expressivity and [Elliott] Skinner’s elastic tenor.”

    From Memory Cover Artwork:

    From Memory Tracklist:

    1. Kingdom [feat. Amber Coffman]
    2. Afternoon Television [feat. Amber Coffman]
    3. Paper Money [feat. Elliott Skinner]
    4. Still Point [feat. L’Rain]
    5. Something Out Of Nothing [feat. Elliott Skinner]
    6. Everything Is Free [feat. Amber Coffman]
    7. Modern Interiors [feat. Anna Wise]
    8. Sunset? [feat. L’Rain & Elliott Skinner]

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading