Albums Out Today: Been Stellar, Kehlani, Gracie Abrams, O., and More

    In this segment, we showcase the most notable albums out each week. Here are the albums out on June 21, 2024:

    Been Stellar, Scream From New York, NY

    New York five-piece Been Stellar – vocalist Sam Slocum, guitarists Skyler Knapp and Nando Dale, bassist Nico Brunstein, and drummer Laila Wayan – have released their debut album, Scream From New York, NY, via Dirty Hit. Produced by Dan Carey, the 10-track record was previewed by the singles ‘Passing Judgment’‘All in One’, ‘Sweet’, and ‘Pumpkin’. It follows their 2022 self-titled EP.

    Kehlani, CRASH

    Kehlani has dropped her latest album, CRASH, via Atlantic. It marks her fourth studio album, following 2022’s Blue Water Road, 2020’s It Was Good Until It Wasn’t, and 2017’s SweetSexySavage. It was preceded by the singles ‘After Hours’ and ‘Next 2 U’, the latter of which came with a video that opens with a quote from Palestinian poet Hala Alyan: “Keep your moon/ We have our own/ Keep your army/ We have our name/ Keep your flag/ We have fruits and in/ All the right colors.”

    Gracie Abrams, The Secret of Us

    Gracie Abrams has followed up her 2022 debut Good Riddance with her sophomore album, The Secret of Us. The LP was mostly produced with Aaron Dessner and includes additional production from Jack Antonoff, Sam de Jong, and Taylor Swift, who guests on the song ‘Us’. “We had real, true fun writing this album,” Abrams wrote on social media. “There were also the occasional tears.”

    O., WeirdOs

    O. – the London-based duo of baritone saxophonist Joe Henwood and drummer Tash Keary – have unveiled their debut album, WeirdOs. “WeirdOs is a dark, heavy album based around our love of riffy basslines, blast beats, dub, noise, and all the weird sounds in between,” the duo said in a press release. “It was recorded live across 2 weeks in the studio with Dan Carey and aims to replicate the feeling of being at one of our gigs.” It was preceded by the tracks ‘Green Shirt’, ‘176’, and ‘Micro’.

    Pond, Stung!

    Pond have released a new album, Stung!, via Spinning Top. The follow-up to 2021’s 9 spans 14 tracks, including the previously unveiled songs ‘So Lo’, ‘Neon River’, and ‘(I’m) Stung’. “To be stung is to be childishly, gleefully infatuated, with a person or a piece of art or an idea. We love, we hurt, we feel alone and misunderstood in ways so shockingly similar that the old Jungian ‘collective unconsciousness’ stuff seems like straight facts,” frontman Nicholas Allbrook explained in a statement. “We’re all part of the same hive, and we keep on grinding along, working for the colony, ‘so tired of living but I don’t want to die’.”

    Sis, Vibhuti

    Sis – the recording project of Jenny Gillespie Mason – has issued a new LP titled Vibhuti, a term that refers to sacred ash used in Hindu ceremonies. Out now via Native Cat, the record draws inspiration from the works of 20th century Indian mystic Sri Aurobindo and his partner, the Mother. It features longtime collaborators Brijean and Doug Stuart on percussion, bass and production, and Will Miller of Resavoir on trumpet, and Devendra Banhart on electric guitar.

    Other albums out today:

    Peso Pluma, Éxodo; Islands, What Occurs; Hayes Noble, As It Was, As We Were; Linda Thompson, Proxy Music; Alcest, Les Chants de l’Aurore; Daniel Davies, Ghost of the Heart; The Joy, The Joy; Your Old Droog, Movie; Kate Nash, 9 Sad Symphonies; Alice Ivy, Do What Makes You Happy; The Story So Far, I Want to Disappear; Moon Diagrams, Cemetery ClassicsRich Ruth, Water Still Flows.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading