Angel Olsen Announces New Album, Shares New Song ‘Whole New Mess’

    Angel Olsen has announced a new album. Titled Whole New Mess, the singer-songwriter’s follow-up to last year’s All Mirrors, which arrives on August 28 via Jagjaguwar, will be her first new material recorded and released without any bandmates since 2012’s Half Way Home. Below, check out the video for the title track, and scroll for the album’s tracklist and cover artwork.

    Whole New Mess was recorded in October 2018 at The Unknown, Phil Elverum’s church-turned-studio, and contains 11 tracks, nine of which are stripped-back versions of songs that ended up on the sonically ambitious All Mirrors.

    “I had gone through this breakup, but it was so much bigger than that — I’d lost friendships, too,” Olsen said in a press release. “When you get out of a relationship, you have to examine who you are or were in all the relationships. I wanted to record when I was still processing these feelings. These are the personal takes, encapsulated in a moment.”

    Whole New Mess Tracklist:

    1. Whole New Mess
    2. Too Easy (Bigger Than Us)
    3. (New Love) Cassette
    4. (We Are All Mirrors)
    5. (Summer Song)
    6. Waving, Smiling
    7. Tonight (Without You)
    8. Lark Song
    9. Impasse (Workin’ for the Name)
    10. Chance (Forever Love)
    11. What It Is (What It Is)

    Whole New Mess Cover Artwork:

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading