Khruangbin Announce ‘Late Night Tales’ Mix, Cover Kool & The Gang

    Following Hot Chip before them, Khruangbin have announced that they’ve curated an instalment of the long-running mix series Late Night Tales. Containing 15 tracks, the project comes out on December 4 and includes a newly released cover of Kool & The Gang’s classic ‘Summer Madness’. Check it out below, and scroll down for the LP’s tracklist.

    “We definitely wanted to cover as much global territory as possible,”​ the Texas trio said in a statement. ​“So it was the globe and then home. We wanted to show the treasures from our hometown, or people from our hometown that the rest of the world probably doesn’t know. Then these gems from across the world, showcasing them in the same way. That’s what makes Khruangbin Khruangbin. The stubbornness about being so hometown-centric. But what makes Houston is this constant international influence; that’s the gulf stream, bringing it right into the city.​”

    Speaking of the inspiration behind the band’s Kool & The Gang cover, Khruangbin drummer Donald “DJ” Johnson added: “‘Summer Madness’ became a staple in this medley that we play. Specifically, one of my favourite things about it is the tone of the bass, which really reminds me a lot of Laura Lee’s bass which has this chunky, peanut butter, rich tone. It was always a special moment, getting to that song because, it just did something to the room, everywhere.”​

    Back in June, Khruangbin released their most recent studio album, Mordechai.

    Late Night Tales Tracklist:
    1. Devadip Carlos Santana And Turiya Alice Coltrane – “Illuminations”
    2. Brilliantes Del Veulo – “I Know That (When The Springtime Comes)”
    3. Nazia Hassan – “Khushi”
    4. Kelly Doyle – “DRM”
    5. Sanulim – “Don’t Go”
    6. Maxwell Udoh – “I Like It (Don’t Stop)”
    7. David Marez – “Enséñame”
    8. Gerald Lee – “Can You Feel The Love (Reprise)”
    9. Justine & The Victorian Punks – “Still You”
    10. George Yanagi + Nadja Band -「祭ばやしが聞こえる」のテーマ
    11. Песняры – “Зачарованная моя”
    12. Khruangbin – “Summer Madness” (Exclusive Kool & The Gang Cover Version)
    13. Paloma San Basilio – “Contigo”
    14. Roha Band – “Yetikimt Abeba”
    15. Tierney Malone / Geoffrey Muller – “Transmission for Jehn: Gnossienne No 1” (Produced by Khruangbin) (Exclusive Track)

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading