Nick Hakim Announces New Album ‘COMETA’, Unveils Video for New Song ‘Happen’

    Nick Hakim has announced a new album called COMETA. The follow-up to 2020’s WILL THIS MAKE ME GOOD is slated for release on October 21 via ATO Records. Lead single ‘Happen’, which features contributions from Alex G on piano and Abe Rounds on drums, arrives today with an accompanying video directed by Johan Carlsson and shot at Roy Andersson’s Studio 24 in Sweden. Check it out below, and scroll down for the LP’s cover artwork and tracklist.

    “The idea for the video is very simple, we see people on a subway, all busy with their different lives, some are in great spirits and some in deep thoughts maybe because of trouble at work or in their personal life,” Carlsson explained in a statement. “Sometimes when you’re in a public space you’re not interested in your fellow human beings at all and sometimes looking at them is so interesting that you can’t stop.”

    “I hope this video can be an example of when people are interesting to look at, in a way that helps you reflect on your own life,” he continued. “I think Nick’s music is fantastic and has a cinematic and visual quality I hope comes through in the video.”

    COMETA includes collaborations with DJ Dahi, Helado Negro, and Arto Lindsay. Commenting on the themes of the album, Hakim said: “The key is to find that extremity of love for yourself. It’s about growing into someone you want to be; it’s about finding pure love within yourself when the world around us seems to be crumbling.” He added, “I think it’s nice to have love in your life and to have people that are sharing and wanting that. It’s my interpretation of a really romantic way to express love in my own way.”

    COMETA Cover Artwork:

    COMETA Tracklist:

    1. Ani
    2. Happen
    3. Vertigo
    4. Feeling Myself
    5. M1
    6. Only One
    7. Perfume
    8. Something
    9. Slid Under
    10. Market

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading