Albert Hammond Jr. Announces New Album ‘Melodies on Hiatus’, Releases New Song

    Albert Hammond Jr. has announced a new album, Melodies on Hiatus, which arrives on June 23. Spanning 19 tracks, it follows the Strokes guitarist’s 2018 LP Francis Trouble. Lead single ‘100-99’, which features GoldLink, comes paired with a music video directed by Angela Ricciardi and Silken Weinberg. Check it out below.

    “I grew up listening to 90s hip-hop, and I would always gravitate towards the melodic hooks in the songs I heard on the radio, specifically anything Dr. Dre was producing or rapping on,” Hammond Jr. said of the new track. “Years later, I noticed myself pulling from the style of those melodic lines in my guitar work, even though it wasn’t obvious to anyone else as I was so directly associated with being in a rock band. ‘100-99’ was something I’ve wanted to do for some time—work with a rapper over a beat and guitar part I wrote—and it’s really exciting that I was able to do it with GoldLink.”

    In a joint statement about the video, Ricciardi and Weinberg shared: “When we first met with Albert, it was clear we were all on the same page: we wanted to have fun and we wanted to experiment with simple concepts that tell a deeper story. The album is 19 tracks, it’s sprawling but interconnected in a special kind of way, and we wanted to maintain that visually as well. The five videos we made for Melodies on Hiatus take place in a series of rooms all within one larger space, different scenes that string together one very long night. Throughout the entire process, Albert was so open and kind, he trusted us, and it cultivated a really pure, almost psychedelic environment.”

    Melodies on Hiatus Cover Artwork:

    Melodies on Hiatus Tracklist:

    1. 100-99 [feat. GoldLink]
    2. Downtown Fred
    3. Old Man
    4. Darlin’
    5. Thoughtful Distress [feat. Matt Helders & Steve Stevens]
    6. Libertude
    7. Memo of Hate
    8. Home Again
    9. I Got You
    10. Caught by Night
    11. Dead Air
    12. One Chance
    13. Remember feat. Rainsford
    14. 818
    15. Fast Kitten
    16. I’d Never Leave
    17. Never Stop
    18. False Alarm
    19. Alright Tomorrow [feat. Rainsford]

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading