Home Is Where Announce New Album ‘the whaler’, Release New Song

    Home Is Where have announced their new album, the whaler, which lands June 16 via Wax Bodega. It follows the band’s 2021 LP I Became Birds and 2022’s split with Record Setter, dissection lesson. Today’s announcement comes with the release of the new single ‘yes! yes! a thousand times yes!’, which “tells the story of two people faking normalcy in the normalcy of faking,” according to frontwoman Brandon MacDonald. “The idea or even the image, no matter how altered or perfectly copied, of love is no substitute for the real.” Check out its Texas Smith-directed video and find the whaler‘s details below.

    “The idea for the record came to me in the spring of 2021 when I realized I wasn’t doing too hot mentally, and had a nervous breakdown,” MacDonald explained. “A lot of it is a very negative record, which was scary to write because I was being honest with myself and allowing a lot of fucked up thoughts to be in the songs. I was more vulnerable than I was used to being in art.”

    the whaler Cover Artwork:

    the whaler Tracklist:

    1. skin meadow
    2. lily pad pupils
    3. yes! yes! a thousand times yes!
    4. whaling for sport
    5. everyday feels like 9/11
    6. 9/12
    7. daytona 500
    8. chris farley
    9. nursing home riot
    10. floral organs

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading