Darkside Announce New Album ‘Live at Spiral House’

    Darkside have announced they will be releasing a new album, Live at Spiral House, this Friday, June 9 via Matador. Following 2021’s Spiral, the record is a collection of jams Nicolás Jaar and Dave Harrington recorded with the group’s new member, drummer Tlacael Esparza, at their Los Angeles rehearsal space last summer.

    “When we decided to get the band back together with Tlac, we knew we needed a space where we could explore what that meant,” Jaar said in a press release. “After a couple of months of rehearsals, we started inviting friends and family to the space and many of these recordings share the fun and cozy spirit of that time.”

    Harrington added: “I probably played every Jerry Garcia riff I know in every key over the course of Spiral House. You’d be surprised how good China Cat Sunflower sounds on ‘Narrow Road’!”

    Along with the announcement, Darkside have today shared a new short film about the making of the Live at Spiral House, documented by Jed DeMoss – the artist and photographer behind both of the group’s album covers – along with artist and videographer Will Carrà. Check it out below.

    Read about the Spiral cover artwork in our list of the best album covers of 2021.

    Live at Spiral House Cover Artwork:

    Live at Spiral House Tracklist:

    1. Liberty bell
    2. Golden Arrow / The Limit
    3. Freak, Go Home
    4. Dream (interlude)
    5. Heart Jam
    6. Question is to see it all
    7. Lero

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading