Cass McCombs and Mr. Greg Announce Children’s Music Album, Release New Song

    Cass McCombs has teamed up with San Francisco preschool teacher Greg Gardner (aka Mr. Greg) for a new children’s music album. It’s titled Mr. Greg & Cass McCombs Sing and Play New Folk Songs for Children, and it’s out August 18 on Smithsonian Folkways. Listen to lead single ‘Wave a Flag for Harvey Milk’ below.

    The album contains songs Garnder wrote for his own students, with arrangements by McCombs. It will be released with an illustrated booklet featuring liner notes by Dublabʼs Mark “Frosty” McNeill, as well as suggested activities for parents and teachers that correspond to each song. “A lot of what’s called children’s music is just folk music,” McCombs said in a statement. “So I don’t see a big difference between children’s music and adult music. To me, it’s the same.”

    “A few years ago I created ‘Wave a Flag for Harvey Milk’ as a sing-along coloring book that I wrote and illustrated as a way to introduce my students to some of the positive things that Harvey Milk did for San Franciscans in particular and the LGBTQ+ community at large,” Gardner explained. “Cass and the San Francisco Gay Men’s Chorus then added their musical magic to the song. This year, my students were overjoyed to see the illustrations from the coloring book come to life in a rainbow of colors by the talented animator Cameron Burr. I hope that this video inspires children and their grown-ups to follow Harvey’s lead to make positive changes in the world.”

    “Whenever we have a new project or we’re learning about something new in class, I try to make a little song about it,” Gardner continued. “I’ve noticed that it’s a fun way to introduce new vocabulary, learn about new subjects, and foster a positive and musical classroom community. And as a kid myself, the things that I remember most vividly are those things that I learned through song. At that age, not everyone wants to sit and listen to the teacher talk, or even listen to a book. But a lot of kids tend to become engaged when there’s movement and song and rhyme.”

    Cass McCombs released his most recent album, Heartmind, last year.

    Mr. Greg & Cass McCombs Sing and Play New Folk Songs for Children Cover Artwork:

    Mr. Greg & Cass McCombs Sing and Play New Folk Songs for Children Tracklist:

    1. Little Wilma Wiggly Worm
    2. Friends from All Around the World (Hello Version)
    3. J-O-B
    4. Requiem for Ruth Bader Ginsburg
    5. A Builder’s Got a Hammer and Nails
    6. Each One of Us
    7. What’s Your Favorite Kind?
    8. I’m a Nocturnal Animal
    9. Paper Airplane
    10. My Skull is Made Outta Bone
    11. Wave a Flag for Harvey Milk
    12. Things That Go in the Recycling Bin
    13. Roll Around Downtown
    14. Deciduous Tree
    15. We Build a Lot of Muscle as We Exercise
    16. The Sounds that the Letters Make
    17. Who Are You?
    18. Together with You
    19. Oona Louise, My Friend
    20. Friends from All Around the World (Goodbye Version)

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading