Animal Collective Release New 22-Minute Song ‘Defeat’

    Animal Collective have released a 22-minute single called ‘Defeat’. Recorded with producer Russell Elevado, the piece features contributions from Samara Lubelski (violin), Leila Bordreuil (cello), and Ben Chapoteau-Katz (saxophone). Listen to it below.

    ‘Defeat’ is the A-side to a limited-edition 12″ that includes a live recording of the improvised track ‘The Challenge’. It’s out August 25 via Domino.

    Time Skiffs, Animal Collective’s first album in six years, came out last year. More recently, the group reissued their 2000 album Spirit They’re Gone, Spirit They’ve Vanished.

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading