Holly Humberstone Announces Debut Album ‘Paint My Bedroom’, Shares New Songs

    Holly Humberstone has announced her debut album: Paint My Bedroom Black is set for release on October 13 via Polydor/Darkroom/Geffen. Along with the announcement, the UK singer-songwriter has shared two new songs, ‘Antichrist’ and ‘Room Service’. Check them out below, and scroll down for the album’s cover art and tracklist.

    “‘Antichrist’ is about a break up I went through a couple of years ago,” Humberstone explained in a statement. “I genuinely cared about this person and wanted so badly to make it work, but I knew something wasn’t right and my heart wasn’t in it. I knew that I was inevitably going to have to hurt the person who I wanted so much to love. At the time I wrote the song, I remember feeling like I was constantly letting those around me down. Like I was falling short of being there for anyone I cared about. I basically felt like the worst person in the world; like the Antichrist. I really felt that I was toxic to be around, and the guilt and self-loathing that came with that manifested itself in this song.”

    “I wrote ‘Room Service’ a little while ago when I’d just started touring full time,” Humberstone added. “I was finding myself constantly stressed out and although I was having fun, I was really missing home and my friends. I felt like I was watching them live out their lives from a phone screen, like I was being left behind. There was this swelling feeling that I was growing apart from that world that I was missing so badly, and I just didn’t want to be forgotten. AlI I wanted to do was to get a hotel room with my best friend, lock the world out and do stupid stuff like order room service. To me, this song is a simple love song to the people I care about the most, and the seemingly basic experiences you share together that can so often be taken for granted. The busier I get, the more I treasure the precious time I get with my friends and family; the more I value them in my life.”

    Paint My Bedroom Black follows two EPs, 2020’s Falling Asleep at the Wheel and 2021’s The Walls Are Way Too Thin.

    Paint My Bedroom Black Cover Artwork: 

    Paint My Bedroom Black Tracklist: 

    1. Paint My Bedroom Black
    2. Into Your Room
    3. Cocoon
    4. Kissing In Swimming Pools
    5. Ghost Me
    6. Track 6
    7. Antichrist
    8. Lauren
    9. Baby Blues
    10. Flatlining
    11. Elvis Impersonators
    12. Girl
    13. Room Service

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading