Sufjan Stevens Announces New Album ‘Javelin’, Shares Video for New Song ‘So You Are Tired’

    Sufjan Stevens has announced a new album called Javelin. The follow-up to 2020’s The Ascension is set for release on October 6 via Asthmatic Kitty. Along with the announcement, Stevens has shared a video for the record’s lead single, ‘So You Are Tired’. Check it out and find the LP’s cover art and tracklist below.

    Spanning 10 songs, Javelin features contributions from adrienne maree brown, Hannah Cohen, Pauline Delassus, Megan Lui, and Nedelle Torrisi. The National’s Bryce Dessner plays acoustic and electric guitar on ‘Shit Talk’, while the closing track is a cover of Neil Young’s ‘There’s a World’. The album will be accompanied by an 8-page book of art and essays created by Stevens.

    Since releasing The Ascension, Stevens has put out a five-volume collection of meditation music, Convocations, and teamed up with Angelo De Augustine on the 2021 collaborative LP A Beginner’s Mind. Earlier this year, he issued Reflections, his score for Justin Peck’s 2019 ballet.

    Javelin Cover Artwork:

    Javelin Tracklist:

    1. Goodbye Evergreen
    2. A Running Start
    3. Will Anybody Ever Love Me?
    4. Everything That Rises
    5. Genuflecting Ghost
    6. My Red Little Fox
    7. So You Are Tired
    8. Javelin (To Have And To Hold)
    9. Shit Talk
    10. There’s A World

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading