Laura Veirs Announces New Album ‘Phone Orphans’, Shares New Single

    Portland, OR-based artist Laura Veirs has announced a new album called Phone Orphans. The follow-up to last year’s Found Light comes out November 3 via her own Raven Marching Band Records. Lead single ‘Rocks of Time’, which is out today, “was written about my beloved brother and devoted uncle Scott Veirs,” Veirs explained. Check it out below.

    Veirs made the 14-track LP by sorting through 8 years worth of voice memos on her phone. “It feels good, on my 50th birthday and after 30 years of writing songs, to bring these ‘Phone Orphans’ into the light,” Veirs said in a press release. “These songs have been hiding out on my phone, some of them for over eight years. They are about my family, my lovers and me. I recorded them alone in my living room into my voice memo app. I like their relaxed feel. These songs were mastered but we made no edits to the recordings. I hope you enjoy this intimate glimpse into my artistic process. All songs by me except ‘Up is a Nice Place to Be’ by Rosalie Sorrels and ‘The Archers’ with lyrics adapted from a poem by Federico García Lorca.”

    Phone Orphans Cover Artwork:

    Phone Orphans Tracklist:

    1. Creatures of a Day
    2. If You Could Hold Someone
    3. Rocks of Time
    4. Tree Climber
    5. Up Is a Nice Place to Be
    6. The Archers
    7. Tiger Ocean Instrumental
    8. Smoke Song
    9. Valentine
    10. Magnolia Sphere
    11. Swan Dive
    12. Next One, Maybe
    13. Piano Improv
    14. Beautiful Dreams

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading