Sum 41 Detail Final Album, Share New Single ‘Rise Up’

    Earlier this year, Sum 41 announced they’ll be breaking up after a final album and tour. Now, they’ve shared the details of the album, a double LP titled Heaven x Hell. It lands March 15 via Rise. Check out a new single from the album’s “metal-filled” Hell side, ‘Rise Up’, below.

    “Writing ‘Rise Up,’ I felt the way I did when I first got signed,” frontman Deryck Whibley remarked in a statement. “I felt the pressure and the need to create something great, but I felt so excited at the same time.”

    “Once I heard the music, I was confident enough to say, ‘This is the record I’d like to go out on,’” he said of the album. “We’ve made a double album of pop punk and metal, and it makes sense. It took a long time for us to pave this lane for ourselves, but we did, and it’s unique to us.”

    “I love Sum 41, what we’ve achieved, endured, and stuck together through, which is why I want to call it quits,” Whibley added. “There were so many times we could’ve broken up. For some reason, we kept sticking it out. I’m proud of that. It’s the right time to walk away from it. I’m putting all of my energy into what’s ahead. This is going to be the biggest tour of our lives, and I want to make it the best show we’ve ever done. That’s it.”

    Heaven x Hell Cover Artwork:

    Heaven x Hell Tracklist:

    1. Waiting on a Twist of Fate
    2. Landmines
    3. I Can’t Wait
    4. Time Won’t Wait
    5. Future Primative
    6. Dopamine
    7. I Could Use Some Help
    8. Bad Mistake
    9. Johnny Libertine
    10. Radio Silence

    11. Preparasi a Salire
    12. Rise Up
    13. Stranger in These Times
    14. Don’t Need Anyone
    15. Over the Edge
    16. House of Liars
    17. You Wanted War
    18. Paint It Black
    19. It’s All Me
    20. How the End Begins

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading