Runnner Announces New Ambient Album ‘Starsdust’, Shares New Songs

    Runnner has announced an ambient album titled Starsdust, arriving February 2 on Run for Cover. Following 2023’s Like Dying Stars, We’re Reaching Out, the record spans twelve songs, including the just-unveiled ‘ten’ and ‘eleven’. Take a listen below.

    “I made one rule for myself while making this record and it was that I wasn’t allowed to record any new audio,” Noah Weinman explained in a press release. “Every sound on this album is a repurposed stem from Like Dying Stars, We’re Reaching Out. I was allowed to pitch, flip, stretch, and chop anything I wanted, but everything had to begin from something already recorded for the last album.” Weinman continued:

    I made the rest of the album during the spring of 2023 when I was mostly stuck in bed recovering from tearing my achilles tendon and the subsequent surgery. A project that seemed to perfectly fit my constraints. 

    The initial process of making these songs was an attempt to remove myself from the process a bit. I’d (sort of) randomly choose stems from songs, like the bass from one track, the drums from another, and maybe find a banjo or piano loop from a third, and then throw them together. It usually made something chaotic at first, but the joy of the album was sifting through that initial cacophony and finding the kernel of the song to keep pursuing. Many attempts were abandoned, but the twelve featured here I consider to be my most fruitful endeavors. 

    It was very exciting, scary, and rewarding to step outside of my wheelhouse on this record and I hope you ennnjoy it. 

    I’d like to thank Matt Emonson for helping me put the final touches on this record. Max Mueller for his insights along the way. Ethan, Tom, Andrew, and Jeff for their support and encouragement throughout the murky process. And all of the players on Like Dying Stars, We’re Reaching Out (Sam, Evan, Jordan, Ben M, Ben W, Madi) for providing me with such engaging performances.

    Starsdust Cover Artwork:

    Starsdust Tracklist:

    1. one
    2. two
    3. three
    4. four
    5. five
    6. six
    7. seven
    8. eight
    9. nine
    10. ten
    11. eleven
    12. twelve

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading