Drahla Announce New Album ‘angeltape’, Release New Single

    Leeds-based art-rock band Drahla have announced the follow-up to their 2019 debut, Useless Coordinates. It’s called angeltape, and it lands April 5 via Captured Tracks. Check out a video for the new single ‘Default Parody’ below, along with the album cover and tracklist.

    Drahla – vocalist and guitarist Luciel Brown, guitarist Ewan Barr, bassist Rob Riggs, and drummer Mike Ainsley – recorded the new LP with Matthew Benn and Jamie Lockhart in 2023. “There was an uncertainty and anxiety in not knowing how to rekindle what we had, and what we did have just didn’t exist in the same format,” Brown reflected in a statement. “I feel this is apparent in the music; the constant changes, opposing ideas and structures, the overall energy and drive of the songs. I think there’s also the sense of reconnection, encouragement and freedom, too. There’s excitement borne from us finding something together again.”

    Commenting on the new single, Brown said: “It’s controlled chaos, lots of different ideas that resolve at some strange harmony. It was the first realisation of writing something from start to finish with the addition of Ewan on guitar so there’s more freedom of interplay and from our previous roles in the band. Lyrically it’s taken inspiration from Shakespeare’s ‘to be or not to be’. It’s navigating loss of life and life with loss. ‘To be, I see, what is, to be’ it’s a one-way deconstructed conversation with yourself. The video was created at home by us with the assistance of my brother George Brown.”

    angeltape Cover Artwork:

    angeltape Tracklist:

    1. Under The Glass
    2. Default Parody
    3. Zig-Zag
    4. Second Rhythm
    5. Talking Radiance
    6. Concrete Lily
    7. Lip Sync
    8. A
    9. Venus
    10. Grief In Phantasia

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading